ABBA Deluxe Edition

My first and favourite ABBA album is finally being released as a Deluxe Edition.

The Deluxe Edition of ABBA’s self titled album, originally released in April 1975, will be released on 19 November 2012 (check local sources for local release dates).

ABBA was the album that really broke ABBA internationally, with hit singles ‘SOS’, ‘Mamma Mia’ and ‘I Do, I Do, I Do, I Do, I Do’. After two hit-and-miss albums ABBA had finally found their own sound on this album.

Curiously, every song on the album appeared on single A or B side somewhere in the world during 1975/76, and five of the album’s songs appeared on ABBA’s first Greatest Hits album.

The Deluxe Edition adds three songs to the original 11-track album – B sides ‘Crazy World’ and ‘Medley: Pick A Bale Of Cotton-On Top Of Old Smokey-Midnight Special’ and the Spanish version of ‘Mamma Mia’. The CD tracklist is actually identical to the ABBA disc in the box set The Complete Studio Recordings (2005).

As always it’s the DVD that has the fans most excited. The highlight of the DVD is the classic 1976 television special ABBA in Australia, filmed during ABBA’s first visit to Australia in March, 1976. The version included here was compiled for overseas market, which features ABBA appearing between songs at a wildlife park near Sydney, and during ‘Tropical Loveland’ ABBA are seen boating on the Hawkesbury River north of Sydney, and enjoying a beach barbecue. The domestic version (titled The Best Of ABBA) was taped entirely in the studio.

Also on the DVD are ABBA’s three songs from the television special Made In Sweden – For Export; BBC TV performances of ‘SOS’ and ‘Mamma Mia’, which feature re-recorded backing music and live vocals; TV commercials for The Best Of ABBA (Australia) and Greatest Hits (UK) compilation LPs; and a gallery of international album and single sleeves.

This release has come as a huge surprise, as this year we’ve already had the Deluxe Edition of ABBA’s final album, The Visitors, released in April, plus the new compilation CD and DVD The Essential Collection.

As I say above, ABBA is my first and still my favourite ABBA album. I wrote previous blog posts about falling in love with ‘Mamma Mia’ and getting this album for Christmas 1975.

See ABBA | The official site and Carl Magnus Palm for more details. Click on “Read the rest” below for the full tracklist.

DISC 01: CD
1.  Mamma Mia
2.  Hey, Hey Helen
3.  Tropical Loveland
4.  SOS
5.  Man In The Middle
6.  Bang-A-Boomerang
7.  I Do, I Do, I Do, I Do, I Do
8.  Rock Me
9.  Intermezzo no 1
10.  I’ve Been Waiting For You
11.  So Long
BONUS TRACKS:
12.  Crazy World
13.  Medley: Pick A Bale Of Cotton – On Top Of Old Smokey – Midnight Special
14.  Mamma Mia (Spanish Version)

DISC 02: DVD
1. The Best Of ABBA (Australian TV special)
SONGS PERFORMED:
Mamma Mia
Hasta Mañana
Ring Ring
Tropical Loveland
Waterloo
I Do, I Do, I Do, I Do, I Do
Rock Me
Dancing Queen
Honey, Honey
Fernando
So Long
SOS
2. Made In Sweden – For Export (SVT)
SONGS PERFORMED:
Mamma Mia
I Do, I Do, I Do, I Do, I Do
So Long
3. SOS (Seaside Special, BBC)
4. Mamma Mia (Top Of The Pops, BBC)
5. The Best Of ABBA, TV commercial
6. Greatest Hits, TV commercial
7. International sleeve gallery

Tags: , ,

One Response to “ABBA Deluxe Edition”

  1. MOHAMED Says:

    I entirelly agree , if you take away “the visitors” , this is my absolute fvorite since it features my alltime fav :S O S .

Leave a Reply

