My first ABBA record

ABBA LP 19751975’s ABBA LP was my very first ABBA record. I received it for Christmas 1975, having fallen in love with the song ‘Mamma Mia’ (a story I wrote about here in Still my favourite song).

There are times, particularly on a sunny summer morning, when listening to the album brings that feeling of my 12-year-old self hearing the album for the first time.

I still love this album. To me this is everything that ABBA is. Ring Ring and Waterloo showed signs of a group under development. With this, the group’s third album, they finally found their signature sound. ‘Mamma Mia’ is, of course, my favourite of all ABBA songs. But there are so many classic moments – pure ABBA brilliance in ‘SOS’, ‘Bang-A-Boomerang’, Mamma Mia’ and ‘I’ve Been Waiting For You’, a little light social commentary in ‘Hey, Hey Helen’ and ‘Man In The Middle’, a touch of reggae and whimsy (and Benny’s accordion) in ‘Tropical Loveland’, a bit of nostalgia in ‘I Do, I Do, I Do, I Do, I Do’, contemporary glam rock in ‘Rock Me’ and ‘So Long’, and Benny gets a showcase of his classical influences in the instrumental ‘Intermezzo no 1′.

That was the summer of the ABBA album in Australia. I remember riding my bicycle around the neighbourhood and hearing ABBA songs blaring from stereos in house after house. A sure sign of the universal love that Australia had for ABBA in those years in the mid-70s.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “My first ABBA record”

  1. Twitter @solotica Says:

    OMG, you have just described my life at 10 years old!
    May the music still go on.

  2. Tony Rogers Says:

    Hi Ian,

    I love remembering first memories and feelings of ABBA and ABBA-esque things, too. My my sunny-day feeling usually comes when I play the ‘Voulez Vous’ album, and fun trips up to Palm Beach, Pittwater and Scotland Island when I was 14 with my family.

    Sorry… I’m tangenting from the ‘ABBA’ album context ;o)

    I love the ‘soul’ sound behind ‘Hey Hey Helen’ (I don’t think it’s ever been mentioned of ABBA having touched the ‘soul’ genre, but I think the music and arrangements in this, and ‘My Mama Said’, are quite sassy and cool… I’m sure the music for both would be classified as ‘soul’?!).

    Also, I’ve always loved ‘Intermezzo No. 1’ (especially when hearing it in ‘ABBA the Movie’, and seeing the relevant concert bits: it still makes me tingle seeing Benny in full-flight… and he’s so cute in it, too ;o)

    I’ve also always loved ‘Bang-A-Boomerang’, and it’s video is one of their happiest… I think it’s the ABBA video I love the best.

    Cheers, Tony :o)

  3. Choice Says:

    Hi Ian
    It was the first ABBA album I bought too back in 1975. I even made a post of it on my ABBA Blog. Here is a direct link to that Post:

    http://abbadabbadoo2010.blogspot.com/2010/05/my-first-abba-record.html

Leave a Reply

