Gracias Por La Música Deluxe Edition

Gracias Por La Música Deluxe EditionABBA’s 1980 Spanish-language album is to be released as a Deluxe Edition CD/DVD on 10 November 2014.

The Deluxe Edition will feature the ten tracks featured on the original album, plus ABBA’s five other Spanish recordings: ‘Ring Ring’ (recorded in 1973, but unreleased until 1994), and tracks recorded for Super Trouper (1980) and The Visitors (1981), included on those albums in Spain and Latin America. As always it also includes a DVD of television performances, this time with every TV performance of ABBA’s Spanish songs.

I was quite surprised to hear that Gracias was to be re-released. In the modern ABBA catalogue it has been replaced by ABBA Oro, which has featured those same 15 songs since 1999. But many fans have a fondness for the original album, so should be very happy that it’s finally seeing a worldwide CD release. Previously, Gracias Por La Música has only had limited release on CD in the 1980s and early 90s, in Japan and Argentina. It has been something of a lost album.

The package includes the usual detailed history of the recording of the album, plus a special greeting from Frida, in Spanish and English.


Disc 1, CD
1. Gracias Por La Música (Thank You For The Music)
2. Reina Danzante (Dancing Queen)
3. Al Andar (Move On)
4. Dame! Dame! Dame! (Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! [A Man After Midnight])
5. Fernando (Spanish Version)
6. Estoy Soñando (I Have A Dream)
7. Mamma Mia (Spanish Version)
8. Hasta Mañana (Spanish Version)
9. Conociéndome, Conociéndote (Knowing Me, Knowing You)
10. Chiquitita (Spanish Version)

Bonus tracks:

11. Ring Ring (Spanish Version)
12. Felicidad (Happy New Year)
13. Andante, Andante (Spanish Version)
14. Se Me Está Escapando (Slipping Through My Fingers)
15. No Hay A Quien Culpar (When All Is Said And Done)

Disc 2, DVD:
1. Chiquitita (300 Milliones, TVE)
2. Chiquitita (Aplauso, TVE)
3. Estoy Soñando (Promo Clip)
4. ABBA on Spanish TV (Especial Aplauso 101, TVE)
Songs performed:
Conociéndome, Conociéndote (Promo Clip)
Gracias Por La Música (Promo Clip)
¡Dame! ¡Dame! ¡Dame!
5. Felicidad (Promo Clip)
6. No Hay A Quien Culpar (Promo Clip)
7. International Sleeve Gallery

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: