ABBA Live at Wembley Arena

ABBA Live at Wembley Arena (photo: Bengans)One of the most highly anticipated new ABBA releases in 2014 is ABBA Live at Wembley Arena.

ABBA had originally planned to release a live album from the 1979 tour in 1980, but canned the idea claiming that the tracklist would be too similar to the recently-released Greatest Hits Vol. 2 album.

Live at Wembley Arena will feature one entire concert, recorded on November 10th 1979, ABBA’s final night of five at the London venue. However, it excludes the guest spot from backing singer Tomas Ledin, who sang his solo hit ‘Not Bad At All’ in an attempt by Polar Music to introduce the singer to the wider world.

The cover was revealed slowly over the course of a few days in late June on ABBA’s official Instagram page. Instantly fans were expressing their opinion on all the ABBA online forums, even when all that was seen was the lower right corner. The most common discussions have been the origin of the photo (taken at one of the US concerts in September, rather than at Wembley Arena), the placement of the album title, and even complaining at the omission of ‘Not Bad At All’, though most of them don’t actually like the song or the singer!

But to the excitement of all fans, the album includes the unreleased song ‘I’m Still Alive’, written by Agnetha with lyrics by Bjorn, performed solo by Agnetha at the piano. Rumour has it the song will also be released as a single, though there doesn’t seem much point, aside from the publicity angle of the previously-unreleased song.

ABBA on stage, 1979Rather curiously, the front cover is a colorized version of a well-known photo from Anders Hanser. It’s a quite dynamic and active cover, not at all like most people expected (obviously, judging by the continuing online comments). Thankfully it’s not the overused photo that first appeared on the ‘I Have A Dream’ single sleeve in December 1979.

Live At Wembley Arena will be released on 25 September 2014 on double CD, download, and triple LP. There has been talk that the download version will have an exclusive 15 minutes of material recorded at the Royal Albert Hall in London on ABBA’s 1977 tour, but this has not been confirmed.


1. Gammal fäbodpsalm
2. Voulez-Vous
3. If It Wasn’t For The Nights
4. As Good As New
5. Knowing Me, Knowing You
6. Rock Me
7. Chiquitita
8. Money, Money, Money
9. I Have A Dream
10. Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! (A Man After Midnight)
11. SOS
12. Fernando
13. The Name Of The Game
14. Eagle
15. Thank You For The Music
16. Why Did It Have To Be Me
17. Intermezzo no. 1
18. I’m Still Alive
19. Summer Night City
20. Take A Chance On Me
21. Does Your Mother Know
22. Hole In Your Soul
23. The Way Old Friends Do
24. Dancing Queen
25. Waterloo


Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “ABBA Live at Wembley Arena”

  1. Mark Achurcj Says:

    All seems good from the so far released ‘Knowing Me–‘. Can’t hear any glaring overdubs and nothing sounds too perfect. Only thing I didn’t reckon on is that now Tomas Ledin.s voice is a bit intrusive to my ears.

  2. bosse faltskog Says:

    it’s all right
    but are they gonna wait that half of the fans die before they release “the real concert” which is from Australia 1977 !!!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: