Ring Ring Deluxe Edition

00602537349449In the year of the fortieth anniversary of its release, ABBA’s debut album Ring Ring is getting the deluxe treatment.

Ring Ring Deluxe Edition features the 12 tracks from the original international version of the album, plus the Swedish, German and Spanish versions of the title track, non-album B sides, and a DVD of previously unreleased television performances, including a fascinating look at the recording of ‘Ring Ring’, in which Benny plays various elements of the songs mastertape, showing how the pieces of the song came together.

Uniquely it also includes six pre-ABBA recordings, four of which are sung by other artists. These include early versions of two songs from the Ring Ring album, and other songs that demonstrate the coming together of the four to become ABBA. All the extra bonus tracks bar one were written by Benny and Bjorn, and clearly feature the backing vocals of future ABBA members. Some of the songs are making their CD debut.

Fans everywhere have been discussing the release at length since the announcement on June 27th. The most common comments are the exclusion of the B side of the Swedish ‘Ring Ring’ single ‘Åh, vilka tider’ (it was vetoed by Benny and Bjorn), the inclusion of the pre-ABBA song ‘She’s My Kind Of Girl’ (it was the B side of the English version of ‘Ring Ring’ in Scandinavia, and replaced the Swedish version of ‘Ring Ring’ on the album on all international releases of the album), the inclusion of songs by other artists, and the exclusion from the DVD of some known television appearances of the time (sometimes footage is not available, or it is not cost effective to include it).

Ring Ring Deluxe Edition will be released on October 4 2013, and is the seventh ABBA Deluxe Edition (eight, if you include 2004’s Waterloo 30th Anniversary Edition).

DISC 01: CD:

1. Ring Ring
2. Another Town, Another Train
3. Disillusion
4. People Need Love
5. I Saw It In The Mirror
6. Nina, Pretty Ballerina
7. Love Isn’t Easy (But It Sure Is Hard Enough)
8. Me And Bobby And Bobby’s Brother
9. He Is Your Brother
10. She’s My Kind Of Girl
11. I Am Just A Girl
12. Rock’n Roll Band

Bonus tracks:
13. Ring ring (bara du slog en signal) (Swedish Version)
14. Merry-Go-Round
15. Santa Rosa
16. Ring Ring (Spanish Version)
17. Wer im Wartesaal der Liebe Steht (German Version of Another Town, Another Train)
18. Ring Ring (German Version)
19. En hälsning till våra parkarrangörer

Extra bonus tracks – Early versions:
20. Hej gamle man! / Björn & Benny
21. There’s A Little Man / Billy G-son
22. I Saw It In The Mirror / Billy G-son
23. Jag är blott en man / Jarl Kulle
24. Man vill ju leva lite dessemellan / Anni-Frid Lyngstad
25. Välkommen till världen / Lill-Babs


1. People Need Love (Vi i femman, SVT)
2. Ring Ring (Spotlight, ORF)
3. Ring Ring revealed (Låtarna som förändrade musiken, UR)
4. International Sleeve Gallery


Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: