Madonna's Like An Angel

When Madonna released her ABBA-sampling hit ‘Hung Up’ in 2005, there were reports that this was not her first stab at the ABBA catalogue. It was said that a few years earlier she had recorded but not released a cover of ‘Like An Angel Passing Through My Room’, the final track from ABBA’s eighth and final studio album The Visitors.

Now on the eve of the megastar’s 50th birthday her version of ‘Like An Angel Passing Through My Room’, apparently recorded during sessions for her 2000 album Music and produced by William Orbit, has leaked out on to the internet.

Hear it at:
Perez Hilton.com
You Tube
Madonna Radio

For a contrast, here are some other performances of ‘Like An Angel Passing Through My Room’:

German songstress Nina Hagen from a 2004 ABBA TV tribute on ZDF.
Swedish soprano Anne Sofie von Otter, who recorded it for her Elvis Costello produced album For The Stars.
Norwegian singer Sissel.

Finally, here is an early ABBA version, Another Morning Without You, with prominent vocalising from drummer Ola Brunkert. Michael B. Tretow once played this on Swedish Radio.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Madonna's Like An Angel”

  1. Graeme Says:

    Interesting cover from Madge. I’ll say this: she has exceptional taste in music, that girl. Nice to see yet another cover of the song. But seriously, Frida owns this one.

  2. Valerie Says:

    I am so surprised. I actually LIKED Madonna’s version. (Though I do agree–Frida owns the song!) Madonna’s is a nice arrangement and nicely done. I really did not like Nina Hagen’s, and von Otter’s was just ok.

  3. Graham Says:

    Yes I don’t mind the version that Madonna has done. Its is a very pleasant arrangement. It’s an interesting take on the song. However I do agree with Valerie that Frida owns this song and really always will. But I like seeing different artists interpret ABBA music. Incidentally I noticed during my ABBA web browsing an Australian Band who have recently recorded some rock covers of ABBA. Album seems to be called Abbattack. I’ve only heard samples but they sound good

  4. Samuel Inglles Says:

    Hi Ian

    I listened to Madonna’s version of “Like An Angel Passing Through My Room” once some weeks ago now. I felt she sung it with a lot of passion, as much passion as her cover of “American Pie”. She did a good job at the ABBA song too!

    Bellow is an article on Madonna talking about ABBA’s songs.

    Who – 5 December 2005 (Page 42)

    Madonna’s high life: Plugging her new album, Madonna spills on her past

    Her new album is called Confessions On A Dance Floor and Madonna has a confession of her own. “I haven’t taken drugs for a while,” she told channel V’s Andrew G in an interview to air on November 29. “I’ve probably tried a little bit of everything back in the day, but when you have kids that’s not really part of the program.” Which is not to say she doesn’t still dable. After falling off a horse in August, Madonna says she resorted to “legal” medication to cope with the pain. Of an ABBA sample on the album’s first single Hung Up, she says, “Every one of their songs is like a soundtrack to something that’s happened in my life. Dancing Queen: I’m sure that song’s written about me.

    (Sam’s comment: I believe that “Hung Up” was inspired by a second ABBA song called “Like An Angel Passing Through My Room”. In this ABBA song a ticking of a clock sound which was generated by Benny Andersson’s playing of the synthesiser can be heard on the beginning and towards the end of the ABBA song. A similar ticking of a clock sound can also be heard on “Hung Up”.)

  5. Brandon Rudie Says:

    Nice post! Madonna is the queen of pop, I totally adore her and want to become more like her.

Leave a Reply

